Survey Says:

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Buzz Bouvier

Reaction score
O.K. here's my question, when most of you fish Carolina Rig's do you use a spinning reel or baitcaster reel? Currently I use two Shimano 200GT TE and I noticed alot of guys in our club use spinning outfits and I was wondering if I should switch over. This is a method of fishing I have only tried a couple of times and I fiqured I might as well use what is the more practical, being I'm just learning this technique. Thanks for any input.

Buzz

Buzz I use spinning tackle. But this is mostly due to the fact I just started learning a baitcaster. Currently I am only throwing a spinnerbait while learning...

I use a baitcaster because I use heavy line and a lot of weight. Not to say that I don't downsize and finess them once in a while.....with a spinning rod.

TOXIC

Baitcaster. However, with something like a mojo rig, split shot rig, or drop-shot rig, you might want to use spinning, just due to the weight of the rig being so light that it's a problem using a baitcaster.

Carolina rigs are typically 1/2 to 1 ounce weights.

baitcaster i think is much more common for c-rigging around here. i hadn't even thought of a spinning reel for c-riggin but i guess they would work. I use the curado and the 7' All Star mentioned above by Dave. Also have some Falcon 7' Rods (lizard dragger) which are made specifically for c-riggin which i like just as well. i like them so much i use them a lot for pitchin spinnerbaits, worms, craws, and tubes.

jd

I have one of both set up. If I am fishing 12lb test or heavier I will use a baitcaster. There are time I will use 8 or 10 lb test on a spinning. I also use a spinning reel with a drop-shot rig.