Boat setup

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joe W2

Reaction score
Hello to all, just joined the other day and so I thought an introduction was in order.

I am new to fiberglass boats and have just purchased a 1998 Nitro LX700 with a 1998 Mercury 90elpto and was wondering if I may find a few suggestions on boat setup as far as motor and prop.

I ran the boat the other day for the first time with my wife onboard and she was really sluggish to get on plane, nose straight up in the air.

Had full fuel (24 gal), full livewell, I weigh 250ish and the wife 170ish, WOT was 5000rpm with a Mercury 23p aluminum prop. Didn't have a GPS so I don't know what the speed was. Earlier in the day before we filled the livewell the boat planed out but took a little time, i'd say 10sec plus.

I did check motor height from bottom of the running surface to centerline of prop shaft and it looked to be 6" the best I could tell.

Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks,

Dobber

Welcome Dobber! You'll find lost of knowledge here. I'll start with my initial thought. It may go without asking but those smarter than I would want to know; Did you have the motor trimmed all the way down on take off? Then, did you slowly trim up as you came on plane?

ND,

Hello, yes I started with the trim all the way down and as the boat picked up speed I slowly added up trim until the boat seemed to run the best. I ran it up until the rpm rose and I could tell she was loosing bite then I let the motor back down a tad until she settled down.

Dobber

A Stainless steel prop would help alot. I don't know alot about props but A 23p prop seems a little high for that. I had a 1996 17ft nitro with a 125 mercury and i was running a 23p

Joe,