Gettin' wet!

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scott Allen

Reaction score
OK Guys. Remembering that I'm new to bassboats, I've got an issue that maybe you can help me with. Most all my under deck storage areas in my Tracker Pro Team 165 are getting wet when I go out. The area under the driver/passenger seats seems to get it the worst and then the upfront locker. The rod locker/storage along the side doesn't get wet at all. Am I not using the manually activate bilge pump enough? I have to come home and take everything out of these areas, dry the items out and then use the wet vac and fans to dry the storage out. I don't think I have a leak. Thanks for any help you can provide!

wow I have a 2001 PT175XT and I can say the only way water gets in my boat is if it pours outside. But i have Never had water anywere after being on the water.

I dont know, but it sounds like you may have a leak somewere. I would look into that for sure. Good Luck.,

BT is right - something is leaking. My 2002 PT175 was bone dry up to (and including) the day I sold it in 2008. If the stuff in your storage areas AND the area under your console is wet, you're getting a LOT of water seeking in. Is the plug new? Are you getting a lot of back splash over the rear transom? Is water seeping in-between the hull and cap. You need to find where water is getting in and keep it out.

I might be getting some over the back when unloading. Most of the ramps where I fish are very steep. The plug is probably original, but this boat has less than 40 hours on it so I suspect it is okay. I'll put some rubber conditioner on it to see if that helps. Would these areas get wet if I didn't use the bilge pump judiciously? Thanks!

If you don't have a crack or hole somewhere, and it's not leaking past the plug, I'd first start looking at thru-hull fittings.