Now this is a big fish - with a sad ending for the Anglers!

• Thread starter John Astrello [URL]http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/378
  • Start date
Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Texas Transplant

Reaction score
This is a big fish, with a very sad fish story to boot. Caught during the annual Big Rock Blue Marlin tournament, the fish was eventually disqualifed since a hired deck hand (college student), didn't have a valid fishing license.

Cost the crew/team the $1,000,000.00 first place they would have won. Read the entire story at the link below.

100624-marlin-vmed-7a_widec.jpg

Tex
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/37896025/ns/us_news-washington_post/

What's interesting is that the captain and crew are appealing the disqualification even though they admit they broke the rules. The quoted excuses are numerous ("I'm just a college student") ("We didn't know") ("We got a license right after the fish was caught"). Doesn't matter. I agree with the tournament official's statement - "there's no such thing as breaking the rules 'a little bit.'" Captain and crew need to man up and accept that their mistake (self-admitted) cost them the prize.

I agree. Most all of us know and understand, that ANYONE on a boat that is outfitted for fishing, and on public waters, has to have a valid fishing license. And, if I'm fishing in a tournament that pay's this kind of payout, I'm not leaving the dock till I know for certain that everyone has a valid license with them (and I'm talking about SEEING it, not simply being assured that I have it.

Regardless, that is some fish!

Tex

I agree 100%,even when the wife goes on the boat-just to sun bath-she has a vaild license!!!! Thatsjust crazy to appeal it,they no they done wrong!!