Am I being way over suspicious

• Thread starter Christopher Laurencio
  • Start date
Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Christopher Laurencio

Reaction score
So the guy I am buying the boat from asked how I intend on paying , I say Bank check, he asked if I could fax a copy so he knows I'm serious. I do that.

He calls me today, the day before leaving and he tells me the bank told him that I could easily void this check after I take possesion of the boat and he would have not to much recourse with getting paid. I tell him that I am a CPA and that's fraud and illegal for me to do, I would also lose my license. He asked that I bring cash?

He was very sorry but really insited on cash?

Could this be some sort of scam? The state the boat is registered in is non-title, once I hand him the cash and get a bill of sale, what proof do I have that I actually pid for that boat?

What do you all think?

Well it's his boat to sell how he wishes but I always use a certified cashers check to protect myseld and the seller and most likely would pass unless I really knew the boat to be a good deal as well as the seller to upstanding. Maybe you could require him to go to the bank with you and get the bill of sale notarized providing he can prove it is his to sell since it is a no title state.

Under no circumstances would I bring CASH to anyone for a purchase of a boat, motor or car.

It's probably not a scam, just someone that is very nervous. After all, he is giving his boat to someone that is going out of state with it. Seems that you could work something out between your bank and his that would suit everyones needs.

I usually use my Credit Union, and the check from them is made out to both buyer and seller.

Tex

TN right? There is a title to the boat, just not the trailer.