Why Couldn't They?

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scott Hammer TOXIC

Reaction score
Fashon a rig that had a tin hull and a glass top cap? Wouldn't that be the best of both worlds.....durability under the waterline and great looks above. I'm no metals expert but there has to be a way to attach glass to tin without leaks.....whaddya think? What would the problems be?

TOXIC

Attaching it I think would be a problem TOX...I'm just waiting for the "all formed Mod V" just like the Avalanche. Rumor has it that Tracker should have one by 2005...stay tuned cause' I'd bet I'm the first in line. Now THAT would be cool!

TEE

BTW...it's suppossed to be painted inside and out.

Given enough time, ingenuity and money, anything's possible. They do this with big boats, combining fiberglass, concrete and metal.

The boat below is a 95-footer, driven by twin diesels to 26 knots. Three decks. Fiberglass hull, concrete decks, steel, fiberglass and aluminum superstructure.
tanaina.jpg

Nope they are painted tin. You dress the shepard in silk and he will still smell of the sheep!! I want a metal-flake fiberglass cap on a tin (or alloy) hull!!! Painted tin is painted tin. The paintjobs on the Avalanche don't look nearly as good as metalflake glass. Period. The depth, the sparkle,......you tin guys are getting sleepy....very sleepy.....sell your tin, buy glass....

There has got to be some way to make an interlocking mold and then just attach and seal.....

TOXIC

Face it, Tin and Glass mix together like oil and water.

Guys that buy glass have to say there boats are the best becasue they had to pay three times as much. A boat is a boat is a boat. Who cares how pretty or not pretty it is. As long as it floats and you can fish out of it, its a great boat.