USAToday Story on Johnny Morris and BPS

• Thread starter Jim in VA [URL]http://www.usatoday.com/money/indus
  • Start date
Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Great story, I disagree with some of the posted comments related to Walmart and Bass Pro, if folks don't want to work for the salary/benefits offered, not one is forcing them to work there. And if Bass Pro and WalMart went out of business, a WHOLE lot of folks would be out of work!

I just wish the BPS was closer or offered free shipping!!

Im a assistant manager at walmart, They have been good to me, I love bass pro its my favorite store, I plan vacations around towns that have one in them, i just wish they were one close to home

Todd- we do the same things on vacation, we drive yearly to OK to my Mother-n-laws, there are THREE BPS stores (Memphis, Nashville and Tulsa) we stop at!

I go to the smokies three or four times a year, to go to bass pro and fish douglass, noriss , but mostly bass pro

After my retirement from my career, I wanted something to do a few days a week. Having been a total outdoors type for my more than 50 years, Bass Pro seemed perfect to fill the void. I never expected the job to be nearly as fantastic as it is. I absolutely love working there. No, the monetary reward isn't much but, it also isn't why I am still there after 2 years. I can't even begin to list all the reasons why Johnny's employees are happier than most working people making alot more! It isn't always about pay rates and benefits.

Todd, just wondering, our local Walmart is all but getting out of the fishing tackle business, they shortened the isle and cut way back. They don't even have worm weights anymore. Is this a trend for all Walmarts or just the ones in the sticks.

I have heard ALL Walmarts are scaling back.