two piece rods

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scott Shenton

Reaction score
Why are there so few two piece rods? I know what everyone will say, "sensitivity", but honestly I have been fishing for almost 30 years and as long as I have a decient graphite rod, and some good line, it's really not all that important to me. After all it's a fish, not a gnat ;-)

To me, the small increse in sensitivity isn't worth the pain of traveling around with a 7'+ rod.....

Opinions?

I dont own any 2 peice rods for a numner of reasons. In my opinion they are not nearly as sensitive as say the same model rod that is a one peice. I also dont like how over time the joint gets loose and you either have to keep adjusting it so that the guides are straight or you take a cast and half your rod goes with the lurein a tangled mess. Im pretty sure a one peice is stronger too. I dont find it a pain to have the all one peice. My rod locker on my boat holds 7'6" and will hold 20+ per side. Most of the time they stay in there, if i go on soeone elses boat i grab what i want out of the locker, toss them in the truck and go.

Maybe Mini will chime in. Im sure he can offer some techinical details on the subject.

Many years ago I bought a 2 piece rod and it was my last. Never took it apart when I used it anyway and after a while the top half flying out into the lake drove me crazy.

Paul

One piece is lighter, stronger and more sensitive (usually cheaper too). I only own one 2 peice rod, a crappie rod (all I have to do is watch the bobber..lol). All the rest are single piece.

There are times it will make a difference in sensitivity....

Mini

PS Sorry not technical, but it is the truth.