Starting and Idle Problem 02 Merc 125 2 stroke

• Thread starter Charlie Livingston
  • Start date
Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Charlie Livingston

Reaction score
I have a 2002 Nitro 185 Sport with a 2002 Merc 125 2 stroke 2+2. It has been on the dealers showroom floor since 2002 and I purchased it in June of 2006. It has had 2 1/2 tanks of gas run through the motor. It will not start hot or cold without putting it in neutral with the throttle slightly forward. Once it does crank it smokes pretty good for several seconds and then you bring it back to idle and put it in gear and it cuts off more times than not. The dealer puts it in a tank and it cranks and idles fine. I then take it to the river and again it won't crank or idle. This is my first time owning and operating a boat and any help anyone could offer from their experience or others would be greatly appreciated. I also bought a 2006 Sun Tracker 21 ft. fishing barge with a Merc 50 EFI 4 stroke and am getting it upgraded to a 90 this week. I love the 4 stroke. It starts, idles and is so quite. Thanks for any help.

Charlie:)

Gremlins? It is tough for a dealer to diagnose a problem when it won't misbehave at the shop...

But, here goes... Was it hot and sunny when you had the boat on the water. That is a carbed motor and it will cook out (evaporate) the gas in the float if it is not run for a long period. Also, check the fuel hose bulb... maybe even replace the bulb just to be sure. That 125hp 2+2 is a very reliable motor once you get used to it and get it "dialed in". Also, make sure you are all the way trimmed down when you start it... carbs don't like to be on a tilt when they are first starting. Also, do you "prime" it with the key switch before you start it? Just some random thoughts... Keep us posted.