Recarpeting issue with Tracker Pro V17

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone! Newbie here ... I want to recarpet my Pro V17 and I am kinda stumped on how to carpet the gunwhale area (carpet on top of sides of the boat). I know I can probably/possibly take the carpet off intact and use that as a pattern to cut from but wondering if should "disassemble" the gunwhale to reinstall this area correctly for fear of it eventually looking like crap. This area has two black rubber trim pieces that run the lengthof the boat and back down the other side that the carpet fits snuggly under ... looks like a real dawg to do right!

Anyone that has recarpeted one of these type Tracker's (Pro V's) ... please respond so I can possibly learn from your experiences ... Thanks VERY much!

Mike M

Welcome to the board, Mike.

Can't help with the carpeting question but hopefully you'll get some good ideas from the others here.

I have the Pro deep V 16 so I'll be kind of curious about this carpeting issue myself.

There's alot of good people here as you'll soon find out. Anyway, welcome aboard! egMike

I re-carpeted my Pro-17 a few years back.

Here's a little generic advice.

Buy quality carpet, not the stuff from Lowes. After about 3 years, mines ready to do again.:( Do it once, do it right.

Buy good glue. Same reason.

Plan on plenty of time. It will take twice as long as planned.And more carpet then planned.

Round up plenty of wood scraps, and clamps. When re-carpeting the wood, it can be stapled to dry. The aluminum pieces will need to be done little by little and clamped to dry as you go.

Put some thought into any changes you may want to make in the future. Maybe a bigger trolling moter???? Now is the time to run a bigger wire. Extra wire ran to the bow and left for the future is never a bad idea.