Question on MAXUM MK 101 ????

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark Gross

Reaction score
This unit has the built in universal sonar unit . Question; Is the built in unit any good I mean should I use it in place of the one that came with the X-16c ?:D

The built in transducer on the Universal Sonar models works just fine, but in all honesty, I am seriously considering putting the puck style transducer on mine, as I find my dash unit has a better picture than my bow unit, and I think it may have something to do with the transducer. Again - it will work just fine - I have been running mine for two years now - but I think the sonar manufacturers (in my and your case - Lowrance) may have a better transducer. Anytime you make something "universal", I think you may lose something in the trade off. Just my opinion - I could be wrong.... and I'll find out for sure soon.

All the best,

Glenn

Let me know how it turns out Glenn . I have not changed it over to the universal one yet.

Thanks,

Mark:D