PT175 front casting deck extension done!

• Thread starter Mike Newman [IMG]http://www.zjstech.net/~library/8
  • Start date
Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Newman

Reaction score
I finished my retrofit on the front casting deck of my 2003 PT175 over the weekend. I took the boat out on Sat to try out the new trolling motor and the extra 9" of front deck I created. I loved them both and caught a few bass to boot. This is my first attempt to attach a photo so we will see how it goes. I have a few other photos including a shot of the front of the boat with the entire casting deck off I can share from my library. It shows the wiring conduit I ran to ease this and future wire pulls to the front of the boat. The carpet looks like a slightly different shade, but this is actually only the nap being compressed on the 2 year old vs new. Best news is it can be easily reversed back to factory set-up with absolutely no visable sign of modification.
Pt175%20completed%20front%20deck%20closeup.jpg

Looks great, good job.

After looking in your library I noticed the support braces and wondered why you didn't add a reccess for your trolling pedal?

How difficult was it to remove the deck?

Looks like a "Grab Bag" project.

Write up a procedure and upload it.

How did you do the TM cables?

I have a PT175 and might want to do it too.

Thanks

Has anyone ever re-carpeted their tracker decks? I've seen in Cabelas and Bass Pro the nice carpeting (~$20-$30 per 8' by 3' measure) and was wondering how difficult it would be. It seems that would be a nice upgrade to 3-4 year old stock tan carpeting that gets worn pretty well...

Thad

Nice job Mike. I replied to your comment on the four stroke. How did you guess I'm from Peoria, nothing but small lakes ha ha.