On board charger plug

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gene B

Reaction score
Where's the best location to install the charger plug I got from Sue D. from Guest. I am thinking beside the rear nav light socket, or through the deck.

Gene

I can't recommend a specific place but just be sure of where you are drilling.

When I mounted my flush mount rod holders next to the nav light socket, I found out that I almost drilled right into my water line to the pressure gage, my transducer cable and the power lines to the nav light itself.

So just be very careful and spend a lot of time with your head in bilge area looking for potential hazards before you drill.

I've installed two. Both I put into the gunwhales (sp?) on the left side of the boat about half-way between the back of the seats and the transom.

me!

Most definately. As an electrician I always look before I drill. I Learned that one the hard way!

Gene

let me know where you guys put the plug, I'm going to be doing one this week also. Thanks.Kevin

Suggestion:

Don't put it in the very rear area.....

If water comes over the transom when you shut down climb in and out of the boat, etc, it could get in the plug and corrode the wiring and contacts or cause shorts.

This may be a stupid question but, like I always say there is no such thing as a stupid question, there are just questions asked by stupid people.

Why couldn't you plug your charger into the trolling motor plug? It is connected directly to the batteries. Would there be too much power loss from the battery cables?

Harpo