Minimal tools you always take.

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve Ferendo

Reaction score
Guys,

I am no mechanic but it does seem like if I am on the river miles from any help (hey, it COULD happen) there may be some tools that I should have. The problem is that I don't know what they should be. I mean I know I won't be able to fix an outboard problem myself but just in case a Tracker mechanic happens to come by what is the minimum tools that I should always have on board my boat....not including a cell phone to call for a tow. Does AAA respond to river breakdowns? :unsure:

I think i remember Ken Neeley posting a list at one point.......:lol:

Seriously.

I bought a really handy little tool kit from sears that has an assortment of sockets and wrenches in a pleather pouch, i think it cost around $30. I carry that plus an adjustable big enough to grab the prop nut, screwdrivers, a foldable allen and torx head wrench. just the basic tools needed to tughten just about any screw or nut on the boat.

I also carry fuses for the fuse block, spare parts like a prop pin for the tm(prop and nut too), Spare flo-torq hub for the big motor, a set of spark plugs, various crimp connectors to repair a wire if need be, electrical tape, some zip ties if i need to tie someting up, a tool kit on a roll( also known as duct tape) , and jumper cables.

I carry the stuff in two little dryboxes that i found a nice place to stow under the storage compartments in the rear of my 882, i put battery trays back there and strap them down. ill post a picture when i get home of whwre i put them.

screwdrivers - 4 - large and small slot and phillips

Pliers

crescent wrench - 2

electrical tape

duct tape

needle nose pliers

side cutters

prop nut wrench

knife

that should about cover the basics I believe

problems you need more tools for should probably be handled at home