Future NX898 Owner

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leon Webb

Reaction score
Within the next few weeks I will be ordering my new Nitro from BPS. This will be my first boat, so as you can see I have a lot to learn. Living in So Florida I decided on the NX898. I looked at Triton, Skeeter, and Ranger but the Nitro won out based on Price and value. What I'm looking for is advice, tips, or recommendations from current Nitro owners. Remember, I'm a newbie so any info, regardless how trivia or basic it may seem, will be helpful. So far my setup will be a single Console with a galvanized trailer, 10" Jack plate, an upgraded Lowrance Fish finder and no carpet. Recommendations on a Fish finder, preferably Lowrance, would be helpful.

Thanks in Advance.

Well Congrats again. And i would suggest checking out the swap and sell section.

Congrats, you'll love it. I have owned 2 Nitro's and having nothing but good things to say. As far as electronics. A inexpensive decent fish finder is the Garmin 120. I installed one a few months ago on my NX and love it, think I paid about 120.00 for it. GPS I would recomend GARMIN 162 or 168, or GPSMAP 76. I am partial to GARMIN. I will eventualy be replacing the X47 Lowrance that came with my boat, not real pleased with it compaired to Garmin products.

hope this helps, and also like allot of other folks have stated get as MUCH HP you can afford, ( Big motor and T-motor )you will not regret it.

Congratulations, and welcome aboard the NTOWS train.

You have lot's of good experiences here to draw from. I'm somewhat surprised that they are letting you put a Lowrance unit on the Nitro. Did they swap it out ($ for $), or just switch it? Usually, that's a no-no for them. I'm not a Lowrance guy, so I'll leave it up to somone else to comment on.