Dog

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scott Hammer TOXIC

Reaction score
I have a dilemma with Cobey, my Blue Weimeraner pup. He is now going on 7 months old. Big male, he is 90lbs and growing. We have had our puppy problems but nothing too severe. He is a big boy, hard headed and strong as a mule. Now is the time we would normally get him "fixed". Time to separate the twig from the berries!! :lol:For the first time, my wife has been thinking that we may want to leave him "intact". Her thinking is that he is a fine specimen and may want a pup sired by him in the future. I have always gotten our male dogs snipped. I am looking for the pro's and con's of leaving him unaltered. He is not overly agressive (only to strangers)....doesn't run off when off leash, overall very obedient. What are my potential problems? I am not a novice trainer but I just realized all of my males have been fixed. Uncle Billy? Others with male dogs?

TOXIC

Tox,

I had my goldens berries removed only becuase it takes alittle of the hyperness away. I was told by the breeder if we didn't get him clipped, he could become agressive down the road, and also will be very hyper, that what we were told, so we got em clipped, not sure on your type of dog. My buddy has a female Weimy, and it is very agressive to everyone but them

You thought about most everything ... testicular cancer risk eliminated? Will clear barbed wire and other fences with reduced risk?

Another aspect is he most likely will start marking a place in the house. Mine Vizsla started right after a year or so. We caught him in the act a couple times so we knew it was him not one of my daughter's dogs. He sired one more litter then snip snip. No more peeing on the corner of the couch.

fatrap