Carpeting woes - need advice!!!!

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kevin Barbieri

Reaction score
Well, after going back and forth with Tracker, Mellen Marine (former Tracker dealer in CT) and Syntec (carpet maker) I have been told that Syntec will provide me with carpet for the entire boat for free but I have to pay the shipping cost to get it here and the labor to install the carpet. Mellen is saying they will do the 7 hrs labor for the bow section or 32 hours for the entire boat at a firm $80 per hour. My question to all of you... Do I attempt it myself, have Mellen do it (can't afford this option) :) or look for someone else? It is a 2001 Pro Deep V 17 WT that I am almost done paying off. Another factor... Im an accountant with no manual labor skills! haha Is it that difficult a job??? Let the opinions fly!!! thanks, Kevin.

$80 an hour???? Are they on crack? Marine outboard techs don't even charge that much! Try someone else! $2,500 for labor to put in carpet.....they must be trying to put a kid through college on those kind of rates! The deep V's are not hard to recarpet VS a glass boat. The decks come out relatively easy and can be recarpeted pretty simply. Do it yourself and save the cash for tackle and gas! You have all winter. You DO have winter right?

Shocking thing is they are a large dealership selling alot more expensive boats. Probably dont want to mess with my piddly $13K boat. What is the procedure? Just unscrew the deck??? How bout all the cuts in the bow around all the compartments and livewell? Oh boy in CT we sure do. Although it was 70 a few days ago down to 40 and rainy now!

Set aside a bay in the garage! To do it right, will take a little time, especially if you only have nights and weekends. But yes, start by removing the seat mounts, (just remove the screw and they should pop right out.