Bass Pro, Baitcast Reels

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scott Shenton

Reaction score
Has anyone had experience with any of the Bass Pro brand baitcast reels? The "Extreme" model is on sale now....

I have had great luck with the reels, but I dont have any extremes. They were never available in left hand :)

Mini

I have a couple and my dad has 3.....and we have never had a moments trouble with them....they are very smooth and some of the reels are a couple of years old and are still like new. The guy at BPS told me that they are also good for SW fishing but we not used them in the SW as of yet.

Which models are good for salt?

AMEN on the "left hand" thing mini....

I have been using several of the extremes for several years with very good success. However, I purchased several Pro Qualifiers last year, and again this year. They are significantly better. Not that the extremes are poor at all.

If you can get some ProQualifiers on sale, get them. If you are limited in what you can spend, the extremes will be nice reels.

Tex

The BPS Extreme baitcaster is one of the best values on the market. My son has two of them that I fish with often. They're not quite the quality of my Curado SF's or Dawia TD-X but the Extreme is $100+ less money. The main differance is the anti-backlash works much better on the more expensive reels and while the spool spins like it's on an electric motor, it still lacks the quality feel that the more expensive reel enjoy. Still like I already said it is one of the best reels for the money out there.

Harpo

wookie the guy told me the Extremes are good in both SW/FW....like i said that is what the man told me. He is the head guy in the fishing dept at the BPS in Houston. He is a big into the SW fishing area so I guess he knows what he is talking about.

Hey JimBob, what was his name? Does he look like Tim Horton?

Mini