Advice for reconfiguring batteries and 4 bank charger?

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Timmer

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am still learning all the ins and outs of my 2 year old boat. I left my boat plugged in charging all winter but my kicker battery was dead when I went to use it this spring. I found that it's not plugged into my 4 bank charger. I'd like to change my configuration and am looking for advice. Here is my current set up -

- 3 batteries in a crossed 36v configuration for my trolling motor. Each battery is on a charging bank, using 3 out of 4 of the banks.
- 1 battery for my main big motor, also on a charging bank, thus using 4 out of the 4 banks.
- 1 battery for my kicker motor, not on a charging bank.

I'm no electrical expert. My thought is that I might benefit from having the 2 starting batteries in a parallel configuration. I could then use the one charging bank to charge them both? Any issue with this idea? My one concern is that I understand you are supposed to match batteries when running in parallel, and therefore I would have to match my big starting battery which is a Interstate 31M. I looked online and the MSRP for that is $435..yikes! Based on that cost my other thought is I could replace my charger with a 5 bank? One consideration is I have a female charging plug built into the hull of the boat, back by my motors. I'm not sure how difficult it would be to splice a new unit into that.

A reasonable priced charger that you hook up to your kicker with an additional extension cord, might be the cheaper way to achieve what you need.