115 hp on 05 700lxsc

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonathan andrews

Reaction score
i have had a dealer tell me that they will not put a 115 mercury optimax on a 2005 700lxsc. they are telling me the motor will cause the boat to pull extremly hard to the right and that it will be very squirrely. has anybody else heard this? i find it hard to believe that a boat rated for 125hp would not be able to handle a 115. please help me with this. i am considering buying one but if i cannot put a bigger motor on it i may go with another boat.

I'd don't see why it wouldn't handle it with hydraulic steering...it might be a bear without it.

Jonathan - I am no mechanic, engineer or boat expert, so take this as just my opinion - "they are telling me the motor will cause the boat to pull extremly hard to the right and that it will be very squirrely. " BS!!! First, the weight difference of the 115 opti vs. the 115 ELPTO i have on my '99 700lx is only 12 lbs!! (360lbs for the Opti and 348). Second, the 115 on the 700lx is a perfect match and pushes the boat into the mid 50s easy!!

I have a 4.5 inch manual jackplate on mine, but the site owner (Rich) bought the boat w/out the jackplate and while it has improved performance and handling at the top end, I can not see any reason why the Opti would do what the dealer is describing. Is the boat already rigged with the Opti or is it a left over you are wanting them to rig with the Opti??

Sounds to me like the dealer has a better markup on what ever motor he's trying to sell ya.

Trep