Z7 (factory vs upgrades)

• Thread starter Phillip Stiefel
  • Start date
Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I will be purchasing a new z7 or a new 190TX within the next few weeks. I currently own a 2002 pro185/90HP, but blew my motor last week. Before that I had a 1996 Tracker 165. I am very familiar with Tracker's aluminum products (good and bad)and have learned what items to upgrade for better performance and fishability.

The water I fish is better suited for aluminum, but I've done that 17 years and now want to experience more room and more speed. I still may choose aluminum if the cost of the Z7 moves beyond my budget comfort limit

My question is, what upgrades do Z7 owners believe are an absolute MUST? By "MUST", I mean safety, boat protection, and ability to fish long days weekends without charging. Getting speeds into the 60's would be nice, but I'm not concerned about jack plates and etc to find higher speeds.

1. Trailer Brakes. At 3000 lbs the z7 is obviously much heavier than the tracker. Tow vehicle is a V8 Durango. Should I purchase the brake upgrade? Without it is the boat difficult to stop?

2. Hydraulic Steering. What's the steering like without it? I'll be fishing a lot of river with extremely sharp turns. Is there a compromise in safety without it?

3. 70 lb thrust trolling motor. Can the stock motor handle and maneuver the boat well in all day or two day situations without charge? What about it's performance in strong current.

4. Motor: It's only $500, but what's the cost/benefit of the 150 vs the 150 ProXS? Is it anything other than 2-3 mph?

5. Boat Cover: The boat will be garage kept, but like a cover for transporting or lodging/camping. Sure, the Nitro cover would be nice, but has anyone saved $400 and bought a cover from another manufacturer?