Wacky rigging

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeff R.

Reaction score
I am just starting to learn to fish plastics after mainly using crankbaits for a year. I've been mainly using plastic worms Texas rigged with a 3/16 sinker pegged and unpegged. Been having pretty good luck but was wondering what sort of hook and worm to use for wacky rigging and what kind of retrieve method do you use? Do you use them around docks and other cover and just let them drop? I also wondered if I should try a 5" Senko Texas rigged weightless or with weight and just let it fall around docks, etc.? Thanks in advance from this beginner!

Senko's are best worked weightless on light line (6-8lb). I never weight mine. You can nose hook and wacky hook (in the middle) if you are in open water. Dropshot if you are in deeper water and even c-rig them (the only time I weight them). Hook size depends on the size of the Senko and how it is fished. For flipping under docks, a 9 series on a 3.0 ewg Gamakatsu wire hook, TX rigged and skin hooked, will do the trick just fine!!

TOXIC

TOX -

I've never tried wacky either; always nosed hooked them.

Do you use the EWG worm hook when you wacky rig them as well? Or does a shorter shanked hook work better?

me?