Pre-Season line spooling

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marke Cicero

Reaction score
Every year in the fall I strip off all of my line from every reel I own. I usually re-spool a few days before my first outing.

However, this morning I purchased 4 new Quantum Catalysts and tomorrow I'm picking up 2 Quantum Kinetics.(They sold out of Kinetics before I got there but another truck load is coming tonight).

Having new reels, I'm dying to spool them up but I probably wont hit the water for at least another month.

What do you guys think, can I spool up now or should I wait? My concerns are primarily "memory" setting in the line.

I'm going to spool them with Berkley Fire-line (which I have never used before)on top of mono backing.

Thanks in advance for your input.

Marke

Marke,....just do one reel of each...you're going to hate that fire line anyway and end up going back to mono....so try it first before you fill 6 spools!!

I like "some" braids for certain applications,...like throwing rats/frogs in slop....but I don't like it enough to do 6 reels with it!!..LOL I just prefer mono for most applications and once you get a back lash with braid,...you're done with that reel for the day! I don't like the way it digs in and buries itself into the reel when you're using it too...especially on hooksets. It's also very tough to break and if/when you get hung up...and you're pulling on the line to free the lure,..THAT's when you'll really bury the line into the spool. It has it's benefits...it would be GREAT for verticle jigging for walleye and maybe some open water techniques like jerk baits and top water,...but I've tried it before and I ended up going back to mono......stricktly a personal preference, but I think Marke oughta try it on one btcstr and one spinning reel before he loads up all 6.....save some $$ if he doesn't like it!!! IMHO

Marke