My eyes! My eyes!

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rbstern

Reaction score
The first thirty-five+ years of my life, I was blessed with better than 20-20 vision. This was before I was into shooting sports. When I started shooting ten years ago, still had at least 20-20. In the last year or so, my distance vision has started to deteriorate. Also find I need more light to read small print. I guess all good things must come to an end. I've got an eye doc appointment later this month. We'll see where that takes me.

I love shooting iron sights, but the eyesite is taking a toll on my accuracy. Not terrible. Just not what I could once do. Scopes are an easy fix, but...my deer gun is a Marlin 336 30-30 and I hate the idea of putting a scope on a lever gun; I stalk a lot when hunting, and the levergun carries so well in hand without a scope. Anybody here have experience with a receiver peep sight on a lever gun, or in peep sights in general? I know a lot of older shooters with less than ideal eyesight like them.

My CVA muzzleloader wears fiber optic sights, and I do pretty well with those. That's another possibility.

I do have a Nikon Prostaff 2-7x32 standing by for the Marlin, if I must. If I have to mount it, want it as low as possible. Weaver setups, even with low ring heights, still put the scope too high. Was thinking about the Leupold STD mount and rings. Any thoughts on that appreciated.

Rich, my favorite rifle was a Mossberg .22 LR bolt gun that came with receiver sights. My love of those sights has not diminished. You might want to try a look at Williams products and for hunting consider almost a ghost ring setup with a fairly large rear aperture.